Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#58
Paul Blackburn
ERA W-L K
4.28 7-6 89
Team: OaklandHt / Wt: 6-1 / 196
Position: SPBorn: 12/4/1993 Birthplace: Antioch, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Supplemental Round by Cubs (2012)


Latest News
Aug. 10 10:26 AM PT11:26 AM MT12:26 PM CT1:26 PM ET13:26 ET17:26 GMT1:26 10:26 AM MST12:26 PM EST11:26 AM CST12:56 PM VEN21:26 UAE11:26 AM CT-Blackburn (inflammation in right middle finger) was placed on the 15-day injured list hours before he was scheduled to start against the Angels on Wednesday.
Analysis: Blackburn, a first-time All-Star, has struggled mightily over the last month. He's gone 1-3 with a 9.25 ERA in his past five starts after posting a 2.90 ERA in his first 16 outings of the season. Rookie JP Sears (3-0, 2.05 ERA) will make his Oakland debut Wednesday after being acquired from the Yankees in the deal that sent Frankie Montas and Lou Trivino to New York.
Aug. 4 4:41 PM PT5:41 PM MT6:41 PM CT7:41 PM ET19:41 ET23:41 GMT7:41 4:41 PM MST6:41 PM EST5:41 PM CST7:11 PM VEN3:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Paul Blackburn improved to 7-6, allowing four runs on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Los Angeles Angels 8-7 on Thursday. Blackburn struck out three, ending the game with a 4.28 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 30 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)8:14 PM CT-Paul Blackburn allowed five hits without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Chicago White Sox 3-2 on Saturday. Blackburn struck out four, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
July 24 4:33 PM PT5:33 PM MT6:33 PM CT7:33 PM ET19:33 ET23:33 GMT7:33 4:33 PM MST6:33 PM EST5:33 PM CST7:03 PM VEN3:33 UAE (+1)5:33 PM CT-Paul Blackburn fell to 6-6, allowing 10 runs on 10 hits and two walks in 4.1 innings, as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Texas Rangers 11-8 on Sunday. Blackburn struck out five, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 19 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST9:36 PM CST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Paul Blackburn did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the AL All-Stars defeated the NL All-Stars 3-2 on Tuesday. Blackburn struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
July 13 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST8:50 PM CST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Paul Blackburn fell to 6-5, allowing five runs on three hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Texas Rangers 5-2 on Wednesday. Blackburn struck out four, ending the game with a 3.62 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
July 9 9:42 PM PT10:42 PM MT11:42 PM CT12:42 AM ET0:42 ET4:42 GMT12:42 9:42 PM MST11:42 PM EST10:42 PM CST12:12 AM VEN8:42 UAE10:42 PM CT-Paul Blackburn fell to 6-4, allowing six runs on seven hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Houston Astros 8-3 on Friday. Blackburn struck out six, ending the game with a 3.36 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
July 2 4:04 PM PT5:04 PM MT6:04 PM CT7:04 PM ET19:04 ET23:04 GMT7:04 4:04 PM MST6:04 PM EST5:04 PM CST6:34 PM VEN3:04 UAE (+1)5:04 PM CT-Paul Blackburn allowed four hits and one walk without giving up a run in 6.1 innings as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Seattle Mariners 2-1 on Saturday. Blackburn struck out five, ending the game with a 2.90 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
June 27 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)8:40 PM CT-Paul Blackburn allowed three runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Oakland Athletics lost to the New York Yankees 9-5 on Monday. Blackburn struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.12 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
June 23 10:00 PM PT11:00 PM MT12:00 AM CT1:00 AM ET1:00 ET5:00 GMT13:00 10:00 PM MST12:00 AM EST11:00 PM CST12:30 AM VEN9:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Paul Blackburn fell to 6-3, allowing seven runs on 10 hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Seattle Mariners 9-0 on Wednesday. Blackburn struck out four, ending the game with a 2.97 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
June 16 1:57 PM PT2:57 PM MT3:57 PM CT4:57 PM ET16:57 ET20:57 GMT4:57 1:57 PM MST3:57 PM EST2:57 PM CST4:27 PM VEN0:57 UAE (+1)2:57 PM CT-Paul Blackburn improved to 6-2, allowing one run on eight hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-3 on Thursday. Blackburn struck out four, ending the game with a 2.26 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
June 10 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST8:06 PM CST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)8:06 PM CT-Paul Blackburn allowed four hits and one walk without giving up a run in 8.0 innings as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Cleveland Guardians 3-2 on Friday. Blackburn struck out three, ending the game with a 2.31 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
June 4 4:21 PM PT5:21 PM MT6:21 PM CT7:21 PM ET19:21 ET23:21 GMT7:21 4:21 PM MST6:21 PM EST5:21 PM CST6:51 PM VEN3:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-Paul Blackburn fell to 5-2, allowing four runs on seven hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Boston Red Sox 8-0 on Saturday. Blackburn struck out three, ending the game with a 2.62 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
May 30 4:11 PM PT5:11 PM MT6:11 PM CT7:11 PM ET19:11 ET23:11 GMT7:11 4:11 PM MST6:11 PM EST5:11 PM CST6:41 PM VEN3:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Paul Blackburn fell to 5-1, allowing four runs on five hits in 6.2 innings, as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Houston Astros 5-1 on Monday. Blackburn struck out five, ending the game with a 2.15 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
May 25 4:28 PM PT5:28 PM MT6:28 PM CT7:28 PM ET19:28 ET23:28 GMT7:28 4:28 PM MST6:28 PM EST5:28 PM CST6:58 PM VEN3:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-Paul Blackburn improved to 5-0, allowing one hit and five walks over 5.1 scoreless innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Seattle Mariners 4-2 on Wednesday. Blackburn struck out two, ending the game with a 1.70 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
May 21 10:10 PM PT11:10 PM MT12:10 AM CT1:10 AM ET1:10 ET5:10 GMT13:10 10:10 PM MST12:10 AM EST11:10 PM CST12:40 AM VEN9:10 UAE11:10 PM CT-Paul Blackburn allowed two runs on six hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Los Angeles Angels 4-2 on Friday. Blackburn struck out five, ending the game with a 1.91 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
May 14 4:33 PM PT5:33 PM MT6:33 PM CT7:33 PM ET19:33 ET23:33 GMT7:33 4:33 PM MST6:33 PM EST5:33 PM CST7:03 PM VEN3:33 UAE (+1)5:33 PM CT-Paul Blackburn allowed one run on five hits and two walks in 6.2 innings as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Los Angeles Angels 4-3 on Saturday. Blackburn struck out three, ending the game with a 1.67 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
May 9 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-Paul Blackburn improved to 4-0, allowing four hits over 6.2 scoreless innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Detroit Tigers 2-0 on Monday. Blackburn struck out three, ending the game with a 1.74 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
May 4 10:09 PM PT11:09 PM MT12:09 AM CT1:09 AM ET1:09 ET5:09 GMT13:09 10:09 PM MST12:09 AM EST11:09 PM CST12:39 AM VEN9:09 UAE11:09 PM CT-Paul Blackburn allowed three runs on six hits and one walk in 4.1 innings as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 10-7 on Tuesday. Blackburn struck out five, ending the game with a 2.22 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 9:50 PM PT10:50 PM MT11:50 PM CT12:50 AM ET0:50 ET4:50 GMT12:50 9:50 PM MST11:50 PM EST10:50 PM CST12:20 AM VEN8:50 UAE10:50 PM CT-Paul Blackburn improved to 3-0, allowing three hits and one walk over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the San Francisco Giants 1-0 on Wednesday. Blackburn struck out four, ending the game with a 1.35 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST4:31 PM CST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Paul Blackburn improved to 2-0, allowing one run on three hits in 5.0 innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-4 on Thursday. Blackburn struck out four, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 3:18 PM PT4:18 PM MT5:18 PM CT6:18 PM ET18:18 ET22:18 GMT6:18 3:18 PM MST5:18 PM EST4:18 PM CST5:48 PM VEN2:18 UAE (+1)4:18 PM CT-Paul Blackburn allowed two runs on five hits in 5.0 innings as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-5 on Saturday. Blackburn struck out three, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 6:45 PM PT7:45 PM MT8:45 PM CT9:45 PM ET21:45 ET1:45 GMT9:45 6:45 PM MST8:45 PM EST7:45 PM CST9:15 PM VEN5:45 UAE (+1)7:45 PM CT-Paul Blackburn improved to 1-0, allowing three hits and one walk over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Oakland Athletics defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 13-2 on Monday. Blackburn struck out seven, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2017 Oak 3 1 0 - 0 10 10 0 58.2 58 22 21 5 16 0 22 1.26 3.22
2018 Oak 2 3 0 - 0 6 6 0 27.2 33 23 22 2 6 0 19 1.41 7.16
2019 Oak 0 2 0 - 0 4 1 0 11.0 19 14 13 3 4 0 8 2.09 10.64
2020 Oak 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.1 5 7 7 0 2 0 2 3.00 27.00
2021 Oak 1 4 0 - 0 9 9 0 38.1 52 26 25 8 10 0 26 1.62 5.87
2022 Oak 7 6 0 - 0 21 21 0 111.1 110 53 53 15 30 2 89 1.26 4.28
Career 13 17 0 - 0 51 48 0 249.1 277 145 141 33 68 2 166 1.38 5.09

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Oak 10 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Oak 6 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 51 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 808 94 88 91.7 45.86
Curveball 311 82 76 78.9 17.65
Slider 81 81 77 79.2 4.6
Changeup 218 89 83 86 12.37
Cut Fastball 344 90 84 87.2 19.52

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.