Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#89
Tanner Houck
ERA W-L K
3.15 5-4 56
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-5 / 230
Position: SPBorn: 6/29/1996 Birthplace: St. Louis, Missouri
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Red Sox (2017)


Latest News
Aug. 9 4:24 PM PT5:24 PM MT6:24 PM CT7:24 PM ET19:24 ET23:24 GMT7:24 4:24 PM MST6:24 PM EST5:24 PM CST6:54 PM VEN3:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-The Red Sox placed Houck on the injured list due to lower back inflammation, retroactive to August 6.
Analysis: Houck is 5-4 with a 3.15 ERA in 32 appearances, including four starts, this season.
Aug. 2 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST9:16 PM CST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Tanner Houck recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Houston Astros 2-1 on Tuesday. Houck did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.15 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 1 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST9:19 PM CST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Tanner Houck recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Houston Astros 3-2 on Monday. Houck struck out one, ending the game with a 3.24 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 27 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)8:24 PM CT-Tanner Houck fell to 5-4, allowing one run on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Cleveland Guardians 7-6 on Wednesday. Houck did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.30 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
July 26 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST8:36 PM CST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)8:36 PM CT-Tanner Houck allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Cleveland Guardians 8-3 on Tuesday. Houck struck out one, ending the game with a 3.20 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
July 23 4:28 PM PT5:28 PM MT6:28 PM CT7:28 PM ET19:28 ET23:28 GMT7:28 4:28 PM MST6:28 PM EST5:28 PM CST6:58 PM VEN3:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-Tanner Houck walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 4-1 on Saturday. Houck struck out one, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
July 17 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST3:16 PM CST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-Tanner Houck allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 13-2 on Sunday. Houck did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.15 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
July 15 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST9:17 PM CST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-Tanner Houck improved to 5-3, allowing one run - zero earned - on two hits and two walks in 2.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Yankees 5-4 on Friday. Houck did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.21 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 9 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Tanner Houck walked one and didn't allow a hit in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Yankees 6-5 on Saturday. Houck struck out two, ending the game with a 3.33 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
July 3 3:52 PM PT4:52 PM MT5:52 PM CT6:52 PM ET18:52 ET22:52 GMT6:52 3:52 PM MST5:52 PM EST4:52 PM CST6:22 PM VEN2:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Tanner Houck walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Chicago Cubs 4-2 on Sunday. Houck struck out one, ending the game with a 3.47 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 2 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Tanner Houck allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Chicago Cubs 3-1 on Saturday. Houck struck out three, ending the game with a 3.54 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 27 12:35 PM PT1:35 PM MT2:35 PM CT3:35 PM ET15:35 ET19:35 GMT3:35 12:35 PM MST2:35 PM EST1:35 PM CST3:05 PM VEN23:35 UAE1:35 PM CT-Houck has been placed on the restricted list (COVID-19 protocol travel restriction) and will miss Boston's series in Toronto.
Analysis: Houck, who has registered a 0.87 ERA with 24 strikeouts over 20 2/3 innings in his last 14 games out of the bullpen, should be available for Friday's series opener against the Cubs in Chicago.
June 26 2:08 PM PT3:08 PM MT4:08 PM CT5:08 PM ET17:08 ET21:08 GMT5:08 2:08 PM MST4:08 PM EST3:08 PM CST4:38 PM VEN1:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Tanner Houck did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Cleveland Guardians 8-3 on Sunday. Houck struck out one, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
June 25 6:20 PM PT7:20 PM MT8:20 PM CT9:20 PM ET21:20 ET1:20 GMT9:20 6:20 PM MST8:20 PM EST7:20 PM CST8:50 PM VEN5:20 UAE (+1)7:20 PM CT-Tanner Houck recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Cleveland Guardians 4-2 on Saturday. Houck did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.50 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
June 24 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)8:40 PM CT-Tanner Houck allowed one run on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Cleveland Guardians 6-3 on Friday. Houck struck out two, ending the game with a 3.57 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
June 20 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST8:16 PM CST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)8:16 PM CT-Tanner Houck recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-2 on Monday. Houck struck out one, ending the game with a 3.45 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 19 1:56 PM PT2:56 PM MT3:56 PM CT4:56 PM ET16:56 ET20:56 GMT4:56 1:56 PM MST3:56 PM EST2:56 PM CST4:26 PM VEN0:56 UAE (+1)2:56 PM CT-Tanner Houck recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 0.1 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 6-4 on Sunday. Houck struck out one, ending the game with a 3.53 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 17 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)8:24 PM CT-Tanner Houck recorded his third save, allowing one run on two hits in 0.1 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 6-5 on Friday. Houck struck out one, ending the game with a 3.56 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 12 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST5:08 PM CST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT-Tanner Houck recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Seattle Mariners 2-0 on Sunday. Houck struck out one, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
June 11 11:05 PM PT12:05 AM MT1:05 AM CT2:05 AM ET2:05 ET6:05 GMT14:05 11:05 PM MST1:05 AM EST12:05 AM CST1:35 AM VEN10:05 UAE12:05 AM CT-Tanner Houck recorded his first save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Seattle Mariners 4-3 on Friday. Houck struck out two, ending the game with a 3.46 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
June 8 10:38 PM PT11:38 PM MT12:38 AM CT1:38 AM ET1:38 ET5:38 GMT13:38 10:38 PM MST12:38 AM EST11:38 PM CST1:08 AM VEN9:38 UAE11:38 PM CT-Tanner Houck improved to 4-3, allowing one hit and one walk over 2.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Los Angeles Angels 6-5 on Tuesday. Houck struck out three, ending the game with a 3.54 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
June 4 4:21 PM PT5:21 PM MT6:21 PM CT7:21 PM ET19:21 ET23:21 GMT7:21 4:21 PM MST6:21 PM EST5:21 PM CST6:51 PM VEN3:21 UAE (+1)5:21 PM CT-Tanner Houck allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Oakland Athletics 8-0 on Saturday. Houck struck out two, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 1 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Tanner Houck allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Cincinnati Reds 7-1 on Wednesday. Houck struck out one, ending the game with a 3.82 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 29 2:08 PM PT3:08 PM MT4:08 PM CT5:08 PM ET17:08 ET21:08 GMT5:08 2:08 PM MST4:08 PM EST3:08 PM CST4:38 PM VEN1:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Tanner Houck allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 12-2 on Sunday. Houck did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.04 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
May 25 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST9:44 PM CST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Tanner Houck allowed three hits and two walks without giving up a run in 3.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Chicago White Sox 3-1 on Wednesday. Houck struck out three, ending the game with a 4.28 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
May 19 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST8:53 PM CST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Tanner Houck improved to 3-3, allowing one hit and one walk over 4.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Seattle Mariners 12-6 on Thursday. Houck struck out six, ending the game with a 4.70 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
May 15 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST3:39 PM CST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Tanner Houck allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 3.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Texas Rangers 7-1 on Sunday. Houck did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
May 8 12:06 PM PT1:06 PM MT2:06 PM CT3:06 PM ET15:06 ET19:06 GMT3:06 12:06 PM MST2:06 PM EST1:06 PM CST2:36 PM VEN23:06 UAE1:06 PM CT-Tanner Houck fell to 2-3, allowing three runs on four hits in 2.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Chicago White Sox 3-2 on Sunday. Houck struck out two, ending the game with a 5.70 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
May 5 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST2:38 PM CST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)2:38 PM CT-Tanner Houck fell to 2-2, allowing seven runs on five hits and one walk in 2.1 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Los Angeles Angels 8-0 on Thursday. Houck struck out four, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)8:10 PM CT-Tanner Houck improved to 2-1, allowing two hits and three walks over 3.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 3-1 on Friday. Houck struck out four, ending the game with a 2.41 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 12:53 PM PT1:53 PM MT2:53 PM CT3:53 PM ET15:53 ET19:53 GMT3:53 12:53 PM MST2:53 PM EST1:53 PM CST3:23 PM VEN23:53 UAE1:53 PM CT-Tanner Houck did not allow a hit or walk in 1.2 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-2 on Sunday. Houck struck out two, ending the game with a 2.87 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Houck came on in relief because he will miss a scheduled start in Boston's upcoming series with the Blue Jays due his status as a player unvaccinated against COVID-19, which prevents him from travelling into Canada. The right-hander will return to the rotation for the Red Sox's series in Baltimore next weekend.
Apr. 21 1:42 PM PT2:42 PM MT3:42 PM CT4:42 PM ET16:42 ET20:42 GMT4:42 1:42 PM MST3:42 PM EST2:42 PM CST4:12 PM VEN0:42 UAE (+1)2:42 PM CT-Tanner Houck fell to 1-1, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 3-2 on Thursday. Houck struck out four, ending the game with a 3.21 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST5:03 PM CST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)5:03 PM CT-Tanner Houck improved to 1-0, allowing two hits and three walks over 5.2 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 4-0 on Saturday. Houck struck out four, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST8:54 PM CST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)8:54 PM CT-Tanner Houck allowed three runs on six hits and three walks in 3.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Yankees 4-3 on Sunday. Houck struck out three, ending the game with an 8.10 ERA and 2.70 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2020 Bos 3 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 17.0 6 2 1 1 9 0 21 0.88 0.53
2021 Bos 1 5 1 - 1 18 13 0 69.0 57 32 27 4 21 1 87 1.13 3.52
2022 Bos 5 4 8 - 9 32 4 0 60.0 49 22 21 3 22 3 56 1.18 3.15
Career 9 9 9 - 10 53 20 0 146.0 112 56 49 8 52 4 164 1.12 3.02

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2021 Bos 18 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 53 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2021 Bos Total 1 0 0 - 1 5 0 0 10.1 7 6 6 3 0 0 10 5.23
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 6.0 3 2 2 2 0 0 6 3.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 1 2 0 0 3.1 4 4 4 1 0 0 2 10.80
Career 1 0 0 - 1 5 0 0 10.1 7 6 6 3 0 0 10 5.23


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 488 98 91 94.9 53.16
Slider 375 88 83 85.4 40.85
Split-Finger 55 89 86 87.6 5.99

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.