Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#39
Zach Thompson
ERA S K
5.18 0 90
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-7 / 230
Position: RPBorn: 10/23/1993 Birthplace: Burleson, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 5th Round by White Sox (2014)


Latest News
Oct. 1 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)8:24 PM CT-Zach Thompson allowed four runs on three hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 13-3 on Saturday. Thompson struck out four, ending the game with a 5.18 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 24 6:15 PM PT7:15 PM MT8:15 PM CT9:15 PM ET21:15 ET1:15 GMT9:15 6:15 PM MST8:15 PM EST7:15 PM CST8:45 PM VEN5:15 UAE (+1)7:15 PM CT-Zach Thompson allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-0 on Saturday. Thompson struck out four, ending the game with a 5.11 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 13 12:38 PM PT1:38 PM MT2:38 PM CT3:38 PM ET15:38 ET19:38 GMT3:38 12:38 PM MST2:38 PM EST1:38 PM CST3:08 PM VEN23:38 UAE1:38 PM CT-Zach Thompson allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 2.2 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-1 on Tuesday. Thompson struck out one, ending the game with a 5.20 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-Zach Thompson allowed three runs on seven hits in 3.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the New York Mets 10-0 on Wednesday. Thompson struck out two, ending the game with a 5.24 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 31 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST3:32 PM CST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)3:32 PM CT-Zach Thompson allowed three hits and one walk without giving up a run in 4.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-1 on Wednesday. Thompson struck out five, ending the game with a 5.13 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)8:10 PM CT-Zach Thompson allowed two runs - one earned - on four hits in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 7-4 on Friday. Thompson struck out two, ending the game with a 5.33 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 2:08 PM PT3:08 PM MT4:08 PM CT5:08 PM ET17:08 ET21:08 GMT5:08 2:08 PM MST4:08 PM EST3:08 PM CST4:38 PM VEN1:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Zach Thompson fell to 3-10, allowing three runs on eight hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Cincinnati Reds 9-5 on Sunday. Thompson struck out five, ending the game with a 5.51 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST7:51 PM CST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)7:51 PM CT-Zach Thompson allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 0.1 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Boston Red Sox 8-2 on Thursday. Thompson did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.51 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 4:39 PM PT5:39 PM MT6:39 PM CT7:39 PM ET19:39 ET23:39 GMT7:39 4:39 PM MST6:39 PM EST5:39 PM CST7:09 PM VEN3:39 UAE (+1)5:39 PM CT-Zach Thompson allowed five runs on seven hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Francisco Giants 8-7 on Sunday. Thompson struck out five, ending the game with a 5.34 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 9:47 PM PT10:47 PM MT11:47 PM CT12:47 AM ET0:47 ET4:47 GMT12:47 9:47 PM MST11:47 PM EST10:47 PM CST12:17 AM VEN8:47 UAE10:47 PM CT-Zach Thompson fell to 3-9, allowing two runs on five hits and three walks in 4.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-4 on Tuesday. Thompson struck out two, ending the game with a 5.08 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST2:09 PM CST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)2:09 PM CT-Zach Thompson allowed three runs on four hits and one walk in 4.1 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 5-4 on Thursday. Thompson struck out five, ending the game with a 5.15 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
July 28 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)8:23 PM CT-Zach Thompson fell to 3-8, allowing seven runs on 11 hits in 5.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 8-7 on Thursday. Thompson struck out four, ending the game with a 5.09 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
July 22 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST7:53 PM CST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)7:53 PM CT-Zach Thompson fell to 3-7, allowing seven runs on nine hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Miami Marlins 8-1 on Friday. Thompson struck out two, ending the game with a 4.64 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
July 14 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)2:31 PM CT-Zach Thompson allowed one run on four hits and three walks in 6.2 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Miami Marlins 3-2 on Thursday. Thompson struck out two, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
July 9 4:29 PM PT5:29 PM MT6:29 PM CT7:29 PM ET19:29 ET23:29 GMT7:29 4:29 PM MST6:29 PM EST5:29 PM CST6:59 PM VEN3:29 UAE (+1)5:29 PM CT-Zach Thompson allowed two runs on six hits and three walks in 4.2 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-3 on Saturday. Thompson struck out four, ending the game with a 4.38 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
July 3 1:49 PM PT2:49 PM MT3:49 PM CT4:49 PM ET16:49 ET20:49 GMT4:49 1:49 PM MST3:49 PM EST2:49 PM CST4:19 PM VEN0:49 UAE (+1)2:49 PM CT-Zach Thompson fell to 3-6, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 4.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 2-0 on Sunday. Thompson struck out two, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
June 17 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Zach Thompson fell to 3-5, allowing two runs on four hits and five walks in 4.1 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Francisco Giants 2-0 on Friday. Thompson struck out two, ending the game with a 4.47 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
June 11 3:58 PM PT4:58 PM MT5:58 PM CT6:58 PM ET18:58 ET22:58 GMT6:58 3:58 PM MST5:58 PM EST4:58 PM CST6:28 PM VEN2:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Zach Thompson allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Atlanta Braves 10-4 on Saturday. Thompson struck out four, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
June 5 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST2:40 PM CST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)2:40 PM CT-Zach Thompson improved to 3-4, allowing four hits and two walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-0 on Sunday. Thompson struck out four, ending the game with a 4.60 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
June 5 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST2:40 PM CST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)2:40 PM CT-Zach Thompson improved to 3-4, allowing four hits and two walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-0 on Sunday. Thompson struck out four, ending the game with a 4.60 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
May 31 10:34 PM PT11:34 PM MT12:34 AM CT1:34 AM ET1:34 ET5:34 GMT13:34 10:34 PM MST12:34 AM EST11:34 PM CST1:04 AM VEN9:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-Zach Thompson allowed two runs on four hits and one walk in 5.2 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-5 on Monday. Thompson struck out four, ending the game with a 5.18 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
May 25 1:01 PM PT2:01 PM MT3:01 PM CT4:01 PM ET16:01 ET20:01 GMT4:01 1:01 PM MST3:01 PM EST2:01 PM CST3:31 PM VEN0:01 UAE (+1)2:01 PM CT-Zach Thompson allowed four runs on seven hits in 3.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Colorado Rockies 10-5 on Wednesday. Thompson struck out three, ending the game with a 5.50 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
May 20 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)8:19 PM CT-Zach Thompson fell to 2-4, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3 on Friday. Thompson struck out two, ending the game with a 4.88 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
May 14 6:36 PM PT7:36 PM MT8:36 PM CT9:36 PM ET21:36 ET1:36 GMT9:36 6:36 PM MST8:36 PM EST7:36 PM CST9:06 PM VEN5:36 UAE (+1)7:36 PM CT-Zach Thompson improved to 2-3, allowing one hit and three walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Cincinnati Reds 3-1 on Saturday. Thompson struck out three, ending the game with a 5.47 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
May 8 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST2:47 PM CST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)2:47 PM CT-Zach Thompson allowed two hits without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Cincinnati Reds 7-3 on Sunday. Thompson struck out six, ending the game with a 7.08 ERA and 1.77 WHIP on the season.
May 4 4:44 PM PT5:44 PM MT6:44 PM CT7:44 PM ET19:44 ET23:44 GMT7:44 4:44 PM MST6:44 PM EST5:44 PM CST7:14 PM VEN3:44 UAE (+1)5:44 PM CT-Zach Thompson improved to 1-3, allowing one hit and one walk over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Detroit Tigers 7-2 on Wednesday. Thompson struck out one, ending the game with a 9.39 ERA and 2.22 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)8:04 PM CT-Zach Thompson fell to 0-3, allowing four runs on three hits and two walks in 4.1 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Diego Padres 7-3 on Friday. Thompson struck out three, ending the game with a 10.05 ERA and 2.23 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 2:11 PM PT3:11 PM MT4:11 PM CT5:11 PM ET17:11 ET21:11 GMT5:11 2:11 PM MST4:11 PM EST3:11 PM CST4:41 PM VEN1:11 UAE (+1)3:11 PM CT-Zach Thompson fell to 0-2, allowing nine runs - four earned - on nine hits and two walks in 2.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Chicago Cubs 21-0 on Saturday. Thompson struck out one, ending the game with a 10.80 ERA and 2.70 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST8:31 PM CST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-Zach Thompson fell to 0-1, allowing six runs on six hits and four walks in 4.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 6-1 on Monday. Thompson struck out five, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 12:30 PM PT1:30 PM MT2:30 PM CT3:30 PM ET15:30 ET19:30 GMT3:30 12:30 PM MST2:30 PM EST1:30 PM CST3:00 PM VEN23:30 UAE1:30 PM CT-Zach Thompson allowed two runs on five hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-2 on Wednesday. Thompson struck out three, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2021 Mia 3 7 0 - 0 26 14 0 75.0 63 35 27 6 28 1 66 1.21 3.24
2022 Pit 3 10 0 - 0 29 22 0 121.2 138 76 70 19 46 0 90 1.51 5.18
Career 6 17 0 - 0 55 36 0 196.2 201 111 97 25 74 1 156 1.40 4.44

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2021 Mia 27 15 0 2 1 0 0 0 0 9 0 0 .133 .133 .200
Career 56 15 0 2 1 0 0 0 0 9 0 0 .133 .133 .200


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 776 95 89 92.2 37.33
Curveball 434 80 71 76.6 20.88
Changeup 175 88 82 85.8 8.42
Cut Fastball 694 90 83 86.8 33.38

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.