Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#44
Daniel Norris
ERA W-L K
5.22 2-4 66
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-2 / 185
Position: SPBorn: 4/25/1993 Birthplace: Johnson City, Tennessee
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 2nd Round by Blue Jays (2011)


Latest News
Oct. 5 10:39 PM PT11:39 PM MT12:39 AM CT1:39 AM ET1:39 ET5:39 GMT13:39 10:39 PM MST12:39 AM EST11:39 PM CST1:09 AM VEN9:39 UAE11:39 PM CT-Daniel Norris did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Seattle Mariners 9-6 on Tuesday. Norris struck out four, ending the game with a 5.22 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Oct. 1 6:27 PM PT7:27 PM MT8:27 PM CT9:27 PM ET21:27 ET1:27 GMT9:27 6:27 PM MST8:27 PM EST7:27 PM CST8:57 PM VEN5:27 UAE (+1)7:27 PM CT-Daniel Norris improved to 2-4, allowing no hits over 1.1 scoreless innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Minnesota Twins 3-2 on Saturday. Norris struck out one, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 28 6:47 PM PT7:47 PM MT8:47 PM CT9:47 PM ET21:47 ET1:47 GMT9:47 6:47 PM MST8:47 PM EST7:47 PM CST9:17 PM VEN5:47 UAE (+1)7:47 PM CT-Daniel Norris improved to 1-4, allowing one hit over 2.0 scoreless innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 2-1 on Wednesday. Norris struck out one, ending the game with a 5.53 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 27 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)7:49 PM CT-Daniel Norris did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 4-3 on Tuesday. Norris struck out one, ending the game with a 5.74 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 21 6:37 PM PT7:37 PM MT8:37 PM CT9:37 PM ET21:37 ET1:37 GMT9:37 6:37 PM MST8:37 PM EST7:37 PM CST9:07 PM VEN5:37 UAE (+1)7:37 PM CT-Daniel Norris did not allow a hit or walk in 1.2 scoreless innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Baltimore Orioles 8-1 on Wednesday. Norris struck out three, ending the game with a 5.77 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 18 12:32 PM PT1:32 PM MT2:32 PM CT3:32 PM ET15:32 ET19:32 GMT3:32 12:32 PM MST2:32 PM EST1:32 PM CST3:02 PM VEN23:32 UAE1:32 PM CT-Daniel Norris did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 11-5 on Sunday. Norris struck out two, ending the game with a 5.96 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 13 6:40 PM PT7:40 PM MT8:40 PM CT9:40 PM ET21:40 ET1:40 GMT9:40 6:40 PM MST8:40 PM EST7:40 PM CST9:10 PM VEN5:40 UAE (+1)7:40 PM CT-Daniel Norris did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Houston Astros 6-3 on Tuesday. Norris did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.08 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST9:23 PM CST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Daniel Norris allowed two runs on four hits and two walks in 2.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 10-2 on Friday. Norris did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.20 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST8:16 PM CST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)8:16 PM CT-Daniel Norris allowed three runs on three hits and one walk in 2.2 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 12-2 on Saturday. Norris struck out two, ending the game with a 6.08 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 30 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Daniel Norris allowed two runs on three hits in 3.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Seattle Mariners 9-3 on Tuesday. Norris struck out two, ending the game with a 5.84 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 27 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Daniel Norris allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Texas Rangers 11-2 on Saturday. Norris struck out two, ending the game with a 5.83 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 23 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)8:07 PM CT-Daniel Norris allowed two runs on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Detroit Tigers lost to the San Francisco Giants 3-1 on Tuesday. Norris did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.75 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 17 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Daniel Norris allowed one run on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Guardians 8-4 on Wednesday. Norris struck out four, ending the game with a 5.45 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)8:19 PM CT-Daniel Norris allowed four hits and two walks without giving up a run in 4.2 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 2-0 on Friday. Norris struck out one, ending the game with a 5.97 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
July 16 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST9:44 PM CST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Daniel Norris walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Mets 4-3 on Saturday. Norris did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.90 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
July 14 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST9:13 PM CST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Daniel Norris did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Mets 8-0 on Thursday. Norris struck out one, ending the game with a 6.98 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
July 13 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST9:24 PM CST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Daniel Norris allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 1.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-1 on Wednesday. Norris struck out two, ending the game with a 7.22 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
June 22 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)8:21 PM CT-Daniel Norris allowed four runs - zero earned - on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 14-5 on Wednesday. Norris struck out two, ending the game with a 7.24 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
June 20 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)8:27 PM CT-Daniel Norris walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 12-1 on Monday. Norris struck out two, ending the game with a 7.52 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
June 16 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST3:27 PM CST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Daniel Norris did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 6-4 on Thursday. Norris struck out one, ending the game with a 7.92 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
June 15 8:59 PM PT9:59 PM MT10:59 PM CT11:59 PM ET23:59 ET3:59 GMT11:59 8:59 PM MST10:59 PM EST9:59 PM CST11:29 PM VEN7:59 UAE (+1)9:59 PM CT-Daniel Norris allowed four runs on four hits without recording an out as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 19-5 on Wednesday. Norris did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.25 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
June 12 2:11 PM PT3:11 PM MT4:11 PM CT5:11 PM ET17:11 ET21:11 GMT5:11 2:11 PM MST4:11 PM EST3:11 PM CST4:41 PM VEN1:11 UAE (+1)3:11 PM CT-Daniel Norris allowed five runs on three hits and three walks in 2.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Yankees 18-4 on Sunday. Norris struck out five, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 10 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST9:32 PM CST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Daniel Norris allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Yankees 2-1 on Friday. Norris struck out two, ending the game with a 5.32 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
June 5 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST8:59 PM CST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Daniel Norris fell to 0-4, allowing two runs - one earned - on two hits and one walk in 2.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3 on Sunday. Norris struck out four, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
June 5 7:59 PM PT8:59 PM MT9:59 PM CT10:59 PM ET22:59 ET2:59 GMT10:59 7:59 PM MST9:59 PM EST8:59 PM CST10:29 PM VEN6:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Daniel Norris fell to 0-4, allowing two runs - one earned - on two hits and one walk in 2.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3 on Sunday. Norris struck out four, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
June 1 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST9:13 PM CST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Daniel Norris walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-3 on Wednesday. Norris struck out two, ending the game with a 5.50 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
May 30 1:26 PM PT2:26 PM MT3:26 PM CT4:26 PM ET16:26 ET20:26 GMT4:26 1:26 PM MST3:26 PM EST2:26 PM CST3:56 PM VEN0:26 UAE (+1)2:26 PM CT-Daniel Norris fell to 0-3, allowing three runs on two hits and one walk in 2.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-6 on Monday. Norris struck out one, ending the game with a 5.82 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
May 25 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST7:52 PM CST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)7:52 PM CT-Daniel Norris did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cincinnati Reds 4-3 on Wednesday. Norris struck out four, ending the game with a 4.80 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
May 23 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-Daniel Norris walked two and didn't allow a hit in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 7-4 on Monday. Norris did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.54 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
May 21 4:42 PM PT5:42 PM MT6:42 PM CT7:42 PM ET19:42 ET23:42 GMT7:42 4:42 PM MST6:42 PM EST5:42 PM CST7:12 PM VEN3:42 UAE (+1)5:42 PM CT-Daniel Norris walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-6 on Saturday. Norris did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.68 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
May 20 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST3:32 PM CST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)3:32 PM CT-Daniel Norris allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 10-6 on Friday. Norris struck out one, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
May 17 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)8:23 PM CT-Daniel Norris walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-0 on Tuesday. Norris did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.73 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
May 14 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST9:38 PM CST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Daniel Norris did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-2 on Saturday. Norris struck out four, ending the game with a 5.91 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
May 11 9:56 PM PT10:56 PM MT11:56 PM CT12:56 AM ET0:56 ET4:56 GMT12:56 9:56 PM MST11:56 PM EST10:56 PM CST12:26 AM VEN8:56 UAE10:56 PM CT-Daniel Norris did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 5-4 on Tuesday. Norris struck out one, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
May 8 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)8:10 PM CT-Daniel Norris allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-1 on Sunday. Norris struck out one, ending the game with a 7.56 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
May 7 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Daniel Norris fell to 0-2, allowing three runs on no hits and three walks in 1.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-2 on Saturday. Norris struck out one, ending the game with an 8.59 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST9:30 PM CST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Daniel Norris allowed one run on one hit in 0.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 11-1 on Friday. Norris struck out two, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST7:51 PM CST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)7:51 PM CT-Daniel Norris allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-2 on Wednesday. Norris struck out three, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST10:12 PM CST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE10:12 PM CT-Daniel Norris allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Colorado Rockies 6-5 on Friday. Norris struck out one, ending the game with a 7.36 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST3:27 PM CST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Daniel Norris fell to 0-1, allowing one run on one hit in 1.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-4 on Sunday. Norris struck out two, ending the game with an 11.57 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 Tor 0 0 0 - 0 5 1 0 6.2 5 4 4 1 5 0 4 1.50 5.40
2015 Tor 1 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 23.1 23 11 10 3 12 0 18 1.50 3.86
2015 Det 2 1 0 - 0 8 8 0 36.2 30 20 15 6 7 0 27 1.01 3.68
2015 Tot 3 2 0 - 0 13 13 0 60.0 53 31 25 9 19 0 45 1.20 3.75
2016 Det 4 2 0 - 0 14 13 0 69.1 75 30 26 10 22 0 71 1.40 3.38
2017 Det 5 8 0 - 0 22 18 0 101.2 120 64 60 12 44 3 86 1.61 5.31
2018 Det 0 5 0 - 0 11 8 0 44.1 46 28 28 8 19 0 51 1.47 5.68
2019 Det 3 13 0 - 0 32 29 0 144.1 154 75 72 25 38 0 125 1.33 4.49
2020 Det 3 1 0 - 0 14 1 0 27.2 25 10 10 2 7 0 28 1.16 3.25
2021 Det 1 3 1 - 3 38 0 0 36.2 38 25 24 4 15 1 40 1.45 5.89
2021 Mil 1 0 0 - 1 18 0 0 20.1 17 16 15 5 15 0 18 1.57 6.64
2021 Tot 2 3 1 - 4 56 0 0 57.0 55 41 39 9 30 1 58 1.49 6.16
2022 ChC 0 4 0 - 0 27 1 0 30.0 23 28 23 7 21 0 43 1.47 6.90
2022 Det 2 0 0 - 0 14 2 0 28.2 22 11 11 4 8 0 23 1.05 3.45
2022 Tot 2 4 0 - 0 41 3 0 58.2 45 39 34 11 29 0 66 1.26 5.22
Career 22 38 1 - 4 208 86 0 569.2 578 322 298 87 213 4 534 1.39 4.71

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 Det 8 2 1 1 0 0 1 2 1 1 0 0 .500 .667 2.000
2015 Tot 13 2 1 1 0 0 1 2 1 1 0 0 .500 .667 2.000
2016 Det 14 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .000 .333 .000
2018 Det 11 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Det 33 6 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2021 Mil 18 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 Tot 56 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 209 14 2 2 0 0 1 2 2 5 0 0 .143 .250 .357


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 426 95 86 91.2 42.09
Curveball 15 77 74 76 1.48
Slider 289 84 75 80 28.56
Changeup 282 91 81 86.8 27.87

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.