Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#0
Marcus Stroman
ERA W-L K
3.96 3-5 78
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 5-7 / 180
Position: SPBorn: 5/1/1991 Birthplace: Medford, New York
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Blue Jays (2012)


Latest News
Aug. 15 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Marcus Stroman allowed four runs - zero earned - on six hits and one walk in 4.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Washington Nationals 5-4 on Monday. Stroman struck out four, ending the game with a 3.96 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Marcus Stroman allowed four runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Washington Nationals 6-5 on Tuesday. Stroman struck out six, ending the game with a 4.20 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST2:16 PM CST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)2:16 PM CT-Marcus Stroman allowed three runs on five hits in 6.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 4-3 on Thursday. Stroman struck out six, ending the game with a 4.00 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
July 30 10:41 PM PT11:41 PM MT12:41 AM CT1:41 AM ET1:41 ET5:41 GMT13:41 10:41 PM MST12:41 AM EST11:41 PM CST1:11 AM VEN9:41 UAE11:41 PM CT-Marcus Stroman improved to 3-5, allowing eight hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the San Francisco Giants 4-2 on Friday. Stroman struck out three, ending the game with a 3.99 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
July 23 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)7:49 PM CT-Marcus Stroman allowed one run on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-2 on Saturday. Stroman struck out five, ending the game with a 4.38 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 16 3:16 PM PT4:16 PM MT5:16 PM CT6:16 PM ET18:16 ET22:16 GMT6:16 3:16 PM MST5:16 PM EST4:16 PM CST5:46 PM VEN2:16 UAE (+1)4:16 PM CT-Marcus Stroman allowed one run on one hit and two walks in 4.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the New York Mets 2-1 on Saturday. Stroman struck out six, ending the game with a 4.69 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 10 9:56 PM PT10:56 PM MT11:56 PM CT12:56 AM ET0:56 ET4:56 GMT12:56 9:56 PM MST11:56 PM EST10:56 PM CST12:26 AM VEN8:56 UAE10:56 PM CT-Marcus Stroman allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 4.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-2 on Saturday. Stroman struck out three, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
June 10 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST3:56 PM CST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)3:56 PM CT-Stroman (right shoulder inflammation) will come off the injured list Saturday for a start against the Dodgers.
Analysis: Stroman made a rehab start last Sunday for Triple-A Iowa, and it didn't go particularly well as he was tagged for five runs and seven hits in 2 2/3 innings.
June 3 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST3:39 PM CST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Marcus Stroman fell to 2-5, allowing nine runs on 10 hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 14-5 on Friday. Stroman struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.32 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
May 29 3:13 PM PT4:13 PM MT5:13 PM CT6:13 PM ET18:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST4:13 PM CST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)4:13 PM CT-Marcus Stroman allowed three hits and two walks without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-4 on Sunday. Stroman struck out two, ending the game with a 3.95 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
May 24 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-Marcus Stroman improved to 2-4, allowing two runs on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 11-4 on Tuesday. Stroman struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.71 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
May 19 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST9:01 PM CST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-Marcus Stroman fell to 1-4, allowing three runs - two earned - on five hits in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-1 on Thursday. Stroman struck out six, ending the game with a 4.88 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
May 8 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET20:06 GMT4:06 1:06 PM MST3:06 PM EST2:06 PM CST3:36 PM VEN0:06 UAE (+1)2:06 PM CT-Stroman came off the COVID-19 injured list Thursday and will start against Arizona.
Analysis: After posting an 8.78 ERA in his first three starts since signing a $71 million, three-year deal with Chicago in the offseason, Stroman had a 1.38 ERA in his next two outings before landing on the IL.
May 1 1:58 PM PT2:58 PM MT3:58 PM CT4:58 PM ET16:58 ET20:58 GMT4:58 1:58 PM MST3:58 PM EST2:58 PM CST4:28 PM VEN0:58 UAE (+1)2:58 PM CT-Marcus Stroman improved to 1-3, allowing two hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 2-0 on Sunday. Stroman struck out five, ending the game with a 5.13 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)7:56 PM CT-Marcus Stroman fell to 0-3, allowing three runs - two earned - on six hits in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Atlanta Braves 3-1 on Tuesday. Stroman struck out three, ending the game with a 6.98 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST7:51 PM CST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)7:51 PM CT-Marcus Stroman fell to 0-2, allowing eight runs - seven earned - on eight hits and two walks in 4.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-2 on Wednesday. Stroman struck out seven, ending the game with an 8.78 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST10:12 PM CST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE10:12 PM CT-Marcus Stroman fell to 0-1, allowing five runs on six hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Colorado Rockies 6-5 on Friday. Stroman struck out four, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST3:27 PM CST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Marcus Stroman allowed one run on two hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-4 on Sunday. Stroman struck out three, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 Tor 11 6 1 - 1 26 20 1 130.2 125 56 53 7 28 1 111 1.17 3.65
2015 Tor 4 0 0 - 0 4 4 0 27.0 20 5 5 2 6 0 18 0.96 1.67
2016 Tor 9 10 0 - 0 32 32 0 204.0 209 104 99 21 54 0 166 1.29 4.37
2017 Tor 13 9 0 - 0 33 33 2 201.0 201 82 69 21 62 1 164 1.31 3.09
2018 Tor 4 9 0 - 0 19 19 0 102.1 115 68 63 9 36 0 77 1.48 5.54
2019 Tor 6 11 0 - 0 21 21 0 124.2 118 50 41 10 35 0 99 1.23 2.96
2019 NYM 4 2 0 - 0 11 11 0 59.2 65 27 25 8 23 1 60 1.47 3.77
2019 Tot 10 13 0 - 0 32 32 0 184.1 183 77 66 18 58 1 159 1.31 3.22
2021 NYM 10 13 0 - 0 33 33 0 179.0 161 70 60 17 44 2 158 1.15 3.02
2022 ChC 3 5 0 - 0 16 16 0 84.0 78 44 37 12 21 0 78 1.18 3.96
Career 64 65 1 - 1 195 189 3 1112.1 1092 506 452 107 309 5 931 1.26 3.66

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Tor 32 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Tor 34 7 2 2 1 0 1 1 0 4 0 0 .286 .286 .857
2018 Tor 19 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2019 Tor 21 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 NYM 11 21 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 11 0 0 .048 .048 .048
2019 Tot 32 23 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 13 0 0 .043 .043 .043
2021 NYM 33 51 2 5 2 0 0 1 4 24 1 0 .098 .164 .137
Career 202 89 9 9 3 0 1 2 4 42 1 0 .101 .140 .169

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2015 Tor Total 1 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 19.1 22 10 9 1 4 0 10 4.19
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 11 6 5 1 3 0 9 3.46
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 11 4 4 0 1 0 1 5.68
2016 Tor Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.1 7 6 6 3 3 0 11 4.76
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 4 2 2 1 0 0 6 3.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 3 4 4 2 3 0 5 6.75
Career 1 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 30.2 29 16 15 4 7 0 21 4.40


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 652 95 87 92.1 47.42
Curveball 7 82 81 81.9 .51
Slider 378 89 79 84.8 27.49
Changeup 165 90 82 87.1 12
Cut Fastball 173 93 86 90.2 12.58

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2022 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.